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COMPLETION RATE
Pros: Completion Rate is a leading indicator of how well your users respond to your onboarding efforts. A low completion rate could prompt your team to reevaluate the onboarding process in order to optimize it according to the current customer behaviour. Spend some time understanding the customer behaviour before setting up your key goals. COST PER ACQUISITION (CPA) CPA benchmarks vary by industry and channel, but the average CPA for pay per click (PPC) search (across industries) is $59.18 while display (across industries) is just slightly higher at $60.76. For a more detailed list of benchmarks by industry, see this infographic. The best way to determine if your CPA is below, above or just average isto
HIRES BY MONTH
Pros: For companies that have hiring targets over any set period, this metric will give you a month by month track of the progress you are making against them. For teams doing a lot of hiring across teams this metric can also be more insightful when broken down by department too.TICKET BACKLOG
Ticket Backlog What is Ticket Backlog? Ticket Backlog refers to unresolved customer support requests in a particular time frame. These tickets remain unresolved beyond the typical response time (for your company) either because of team member performance, ticket volume, and/or dependencies and complexities that require additional time. NEW HIRE TURNOVER RATE Pros: Tracking New Hire Turnover Rate gives you an indication of the effectiveness of your hiring and onboarding strategy. New starters who pass their probation and remain in your company for over a year are a good indication that your company has successfully matched both external representations and job roles with your hiring strategy. DATA FALLACIES TO AVOID CHERRY PICKING Selecting results that fit your claim and excluding those that don’t. DATA DREDGING Repeatedly testing new hypothesesagainst the same
HOW OFTEN DOES MY SPREADSHEET DATA REFRESH? Refresh rates when using import formulas. Widgets powered by import functions such as ImportRange and ImportData automatically refresh around every 15 minutes.Be aware though that when data from multiple import functions with their own refresh intervals are used in the same connected spreadsheet it can affect the accuracy of the datadisplayed.
HOW DO I ENABLE API ACCESS IN SALESFORCE? Only the Salesforce administrator has access to these features. Click on Setup. Go to Manage Users and click Profiles. Click Edit on the specific profile you're updating. Scroll down to Administrative Permissions and check the API Enabled box. Click Save. GECKOBOARD - DATA DASHBOARDS MADE FOR SHARINGGECKOBOARD METHODOLOGYDASHBOARD DESIGNTV DASHBOARDS ULTIMATE GUIDEKPI EXAMPLES Make business data easy to understand. You’ve got data - now it’s time to share it with others. Geckoboard helps you streamline data from spreadsheets, databases and other tools, and present it in the clearest possible way. Explore our data sources. HEADCOUNT | KPI EXAMPLE | GECKOBOARD If your company is growing, and you are regularly hiring new staff this metric is a great way to keep on top of your numbers, plus you can always break it down by department or location numbers depending on your company needs. Knowing your FTE as well as your headcount will tell you the number of weekly hours you have in the company. FTE isCOMPLETION RATE
Pros: Completion Rate is a leading indicator of how well your users respond to your onboarding efforts. A low completion rate could prompt your team to reevaluate the onboarding process in order to optimize it according to the current customer behaviour. Spend some time understanding the customer behaviour before setting up your key goals. COST PER ACQUISITION (CPA) CPA benchmarks vary by industry and channel, but the average CPA for pay per click (PPC) search (across industries) is $59.18 while display (across industries) is just slightly higher at $60.76. For a more detailed list of benchmarks by industry, see this infographic. The best way to determine if your CPA is below, above or just average isto
HIRES BY MONTH
Pros: For companies that have hiring targets over any set period, this metric will give you a month by month track of the progress you are making against them. For teams doing a lot of hiring across teams this metric can also be more insightful when broken down by department too.TICKET BACKLOG
Ticket Backlog What is Ticket Backlog? Ticket Backlog refers to unresolved customer support requests in a particular time frame. These tickets remain unresolved beyond the typical response time (for your company) either because of team member performance, ticket volume, and/or dependencies and complexities that require additional time. NEW HIRE TURNOVER RATE Pros: Tracking New Hire Turnover Rate gives you an indication of the effectiveness of your hiring and onboarding strategy. New starters who pass their probation and remain in your company for over a year are a good indication that your company has successfully matched both external representations and job roles with your hiring strategy. DATA FALLACIES TO AVOID CHERRY PICKING Selecting results that fit your claim and excluding those that don’t. DATA DREDGING Repeatedly testing new hypothesesagainst the same
HOW OFTEN DOES MY SPREADSHEET DATA REFRESH? Refresh rates when using import formulas. Widgets powered by import functions such as ImportRange and ImportData automatically refresh around every 15 minutes.Be aware though that when data from multiple import functions with their own refresh intervals are used in the same connected spreadsheet it can affect the accuracy of the datadisplayed.
HOW DO I ENABLE API ACCESS IN SALESFORCE? Only the Salesforce administrator has access to these features. Click on Setup. Go to Manage Users and click Profiles. Click Edit on the specific profile you're updating. Scroll down to Administrative Permissions and check the API Enabled box. Click Save. SQL TO WIN CONVERSION RATE However, this varies widely based on what the source of the opportunity was. For example, customer and employee referrals converted at 14.7%, social media at 8.5% and email campaigns at 7.8%. Meanwhile, lead lists convert at just 0.9%, events at 1.0% and webinars at 2.5%. Source. Lead Source for B2B companies. Benchmark SQL to Win Conversion Rate.HIRES BY MONTH
Pros: For companies that have hiring targets over any set period, this metric will give you a month by month track of the progress you are making against them. For teams doing a lot of hiring across teams this metric can also be more insightful when broken down by department too.TICKET BACKLOG
Ticket Backlog What is Ticket Backlog? Ticket Backlog refers to unresolved customer support requests in a particular time frame. These tickets remain unresolved beyond the typical response time (for your company) either because of team member performance, ticket volume, and/or dependencies and complexities that require additional time.ABSENCE RATE
Pros: If you are supporting a large or dispersed team this rate can give you an indication of the “health” of those teams, departments or locations at a glance. An absence rate of 1.5% is considered normal. A lower rate may indicate employees are afraid of taking unscheduled absences, preferring presenteeism that could indicateissues with
MQL TO SQL CONVERSION RATE However, this varies hugely based on what the source of the lead was. For example, website lead converted at 31.3%, customer and employee referrals at 24.7% and webinars at 17.8%. Meanwhile, email campaigns convert at just 0.9%, lead lists at 2.5% and events at 4.2%. Source. Lead Source for B2B Companies. Benchmark for MQL to SQL ConversionRate.
COST PER INSTALL
Cost Per Install is calculated by dividing the ad spend (over a specific time period) by the number of new installs from that same period. For example, if you spent $200 on ads for your mobile app and generated 130 new installs, your Cost Per Install would be $1.53. 200/ 130 = $1.53.
EMPLOYEE NET PROMOTER SCORE Employee Net Promoter Score What is Employee Net Promoter Score (eNPS)? This is a method for measuring how willing the employees are to recommend their workplace to friends and acquaintances. WWW.GECKOBOARD.COMTRANSLATE THIS PAGEwww.geckoboard.com
AVERAGE REVENUE PER ACCOUNT (ARPA) Average Revenue Per Account (ARPA) What is Average Revenue Per Account (ARPA)? The SaaS Metric Average Revenue Per Account (ARPA) is the revenue generated per account, usually calculated on a monthly oryearly basis.
NET MRR CHURN RATE
Continuing with our example above, if the total MRR is $50,000 but churn is $1500 and expansion is $2000, then the net (negative) MRR churn rate would be -1%. Net MRR Churn Rate can also be calculated on a cohort basis instead of monthly. The formula is quite similar to monthly version - simply change the figures to reflect the duration ofthe
GECKOBOARD - DATA DASHBOARDS MADE FOR SHARINGGECKOBOARD METHODOLOGYDASHBOARD DESIGNTV DASHBOARDS ULTIMATE GUIDEKPI EXAMPLES Make business data easy to understand. You’ve got data - now it’s time to share it with others. Geckoboard helps you streamline data from spreadsheets, databases and other tools, and present it in the clearest possible way. Explore our data sources.COMPLETION RATE
Pros: Completion Rate is a leading indicator of how well your users respond to your onboarding efforts. A low completion rate could prompt your team to reevaluate the onboarding process in order to optimize it according to the current customer behaviour. Spend some time understanding the customer behaviour before setting up your key goals. WEBSITE TRAFFIC GROWTH Website traffic growth is a key metric for any marketer to track and improve because increasing traffic increases the number of potential customers you can acquire. It also indicates the health of your top-of-the-funnel activities (i.e. social media, paid ads, SEO, etc. - ULTIMATE GUIDE TO TV DASHBOARDS TV Dashboards: a complete guide. A TV dashboard displays your metrics and key performance indicators (KPIs) on a TV screen, in your office. By clearly visualizing your performance data, and drawing attention to your objectives, a TV dashboard improves team performance, and helps to create team alignment. COST PER ACQUISITION (CPA) CPA benchmarks vary by industry and channel, but the average CPA for pay per click (PPC) search (across industries) is $59.18 while display (across industries) is just slightly higher at $60.76. For a more detailed list of benchmarks by industry, see this infographic. The best way to determine if your CPA is below, above or just average isto
LTV:CAC RATIO
LTV to CAC Ratio Calculation: ($) LTV / ($) CAC = (#) LTV to (1) CAC Ratio. The average lifetime value of your customers is the average monthly revenue per customer adjusted for monthly churn and gross margin. You can also calculate LTV using annual recurring revenue and annual churn. The cost of acquiring a customer is simply the sum ofall
TICKET BACKLOG
Ticket Backlog What is Ticket Backlog? Ticket Backlog refers to unresolved customer support requests in a particular time frame. These tickets remain unresolved beyond the typical response time (for your company) either because of team member performance, ticket volume, and/or dependencies and complexities that require additional time.GENDER RATIO
Gender Ratio What is Gender Ratio? This metrics calculates the proportion of people who identify as a certain gender across your business. It is used to compare the amount of people across two genders (or groups of genders e.g. women and non-binary to men). NEW HIRE TURNOVER RATE Pros: Tracking New Hire Turnover Rate gives you an indication of the effectiveness of your hiring and onboarding strategy. New starters who pass their probation and remain in your company for over a year are a good indication that your company has successfully matched both external representations and job roles with your hiring strategy. AVERAGE REVENUE PER ACCOUNT (ARPA) Average Revenue Per Account (ARPA) What is Average Revenue Per Account (ARPA)? The SaaS Metric Average Revenue Per Account (ARPA) is the revenue generated per account, usually calculated on a monthly oryearly basis.
GECKOBOARD - DATA DASHBOARDS MADE FOR SHARINGGECKOBOARD METHODOLOGYDASHBOARD DESIGNTV DASHBOARDS ULTIMATE GUIDEKPI EXAMPLES Make business data easy to understand. You’ve got data - now it’s time to share it with others. Geckoboard helps you streamline data from spreadsheets, databases and other tools, and present it in the clearest possible way. Explore our data sources.COMPLETION RATE
Pros: Completion Rate is a leading indicator of how well your users respond to your onboarding efforts. A low completion rate could prompt your team to reevaluate the onboarding process in order to optimize it according to the current customer behaviour. Spend some time understanding the customer behaviour before setting up your key goals. WEBSITE TRAFFIC GROWTH Website traffic growth is a key metric for any marketer to track and improve because increasing traffic increases the number of potential customers you can acquire. It also indicates the health of your top-of-the-funnel activities (i.e. social media, paid ads, SEO, etc. - ULTIMATE GUIDE TO TV DASHBOARDS TV Dashboards: a complete guide. A TV dashboard displays your metrics and key performance indicators (KPIs) on a TV screen, in your office. By clearly visualizing your performance data, and drawing attention to your objectives, a TV dashboard improves team performance, and helps to create team alignment. COST PER ACQUISITION (CPA) CPA benchmarks vary by industry and channel, but the average CPA for pay per click (PPC) search (across industries) is $59.18 while display (across industries) is just slightly higher at $60.76. For a more detailed list of benchmarks by industry, see this infographic. The best way to determine if your CPA is below, above or just average isto
PRICING OPTIONS TO SUIT EVERY TEAM For an individual, project, or small team just getting started. $ 28 /mo. billed annually. Try for free. 1 dashboard & 1 user. Create one real-time dashboard for your project, team or initiative. All 60+ data sources. All our paid plans include all our data sources. We don't restrict how many sources you can use or artificially limit how fast WEBSITE LAUNCH DASHBOARD EXAMPLE What’s this dashboard for? We created this dashboard for the relaunch of our website, to help everyone in Marketing stay on top of core health metrics related to the relaunch. It’s designed to answer two questions that are always front of mind during a launch: “is anything broken?” and “how is the new website performing comparedto
WEBSITE TRAFFIC GROWTH Website traffic growth is a key metric for any marketer to track and improve because increasing traffic increases the number of potential customers you can acquire. It also indicates the health of your top-of-the-funnel activities (i.e. social media, paid ads, SEO, etc. - HEADCOUNT | KPI EXAMPLE | GECKOBOARD If your company is growing, and you are regularly hiring new staff this metric is a great way to keep on top of your numbers, plus you can always break it down by department or location numbers depending on your company needs. Knowing your FTE as well as your headcount will tell you the number of weekly hours you have in the company. FTE is SQL TO WIN CONVERSION RATE However, this varies widely based on what the source of the opportunity was. For example, customer and employee referrals converted at 14.7%, social media at 8.5% and email campaigns at 7.8%. Meanwhile, lead lists convert at just 0.9%, events at 1.0% and webinars at 2.5%. Source. Lead Source for B2B companies. Benchmark SQL to Win Conversion Rate. WEBSITE CONVERSION RATE Website conversion rates have quite a bit of variance depending on the industry and business model. Generally though, ecommerce conversion rates are lower coming in between 1.84% and 3.71% - while the average conversion rate across industries ranges between 2.35% and 5.31%. Mobile apps are in a category all their own with even more divergence WWW.GECKOBOARD.COMTRANSLATE THIS PAGEwww.geckoboard.com
COST PER INSTALL
Cost Per Install is calculated by dividing the ad spend (over a specific time period) by the number of new installs from that same period. For example, if you spent $200 on ads for your mobile app and generated 130 new installs, your Cost Per Install would be $1.53. 200/ 130 = $1.53.
AVERAGE REVENUE PER ACCOUNT (ARPA) Average Revenue Per Account (ARPA) What is Average Revenue Per Account (ARPA)? The SaaS Metric Average Revenue Per Account (ARPA) is the revenue generated per account, usually calculated on a monthly oryearly basis.
EXPANSION MRR RATE
Expansion MRR Rate What is Expansion MRR Rate? The SaaS Metric Expansion Monthly Recurring Revenue (MRR) Rate is additional recurring revenue generated from existing customers through either add-ons, upsells or cross-sells. GECKOBOARD - DATA DASHBOARDS MADE FOR SHARINGGECKOBOARD METHODOLOGYDASHBOARD DESIGNTV DASHBOARDS ULTIMATE GUIDEKPI EXAMPLES Make business data easy to understand. You’ve got data - now it’s time to share it with others. Geckoboard helps you streamline data from spreadsheets, databases and other tools, and present it in the clearest possible way. Explore our data sources. HEADCOUNT | KPI EXAMPLE | GECKOBOARD If your company is growing, and you are regularly hiring new staff this metric is a great way to keep on top of your numbers, plus you can always break it down by department or location numbers depending on your company needs. Knowing your FTE as well as your headcount will tell you the number of weekly hours you have in the company. FTE isHIRES BY MONTH
Pros: For companies that have hiring targets over any set period, this metric will give you a month by month track of the progress you are making against them. For teams doing a lot of hiring across teams this metric can also be more insightful when broken down by department too. COST PER ACQUISITION (CPA) CPA benchmarks vary by industry and channel, but the average CPA for pay per click (PPC) search (across industries) is $59.18 while display (across industries) is just slightly higher at $60.76. For a more detailed list of benchmarks by industry, see this infographic. The best way to determine if your CPA is below, above or just average isto
TICKET BACKLOG
Ticket Backlog What is Ticket Backlog? Ticket Backlog refers to unresolved customer support requests in a particular time frame. These tickets remain unresolved beyond the typical response time (for your company) either because of team member performance, ticket volume, and/or dependencies and complexities that require additional time.ABSENCE RATE
Pros: If you are supporting a large or dispersed team this rate can give you an indication of the “health” of those teams, departments or locations at a glance. An absence rate of 1.5% is considered normal. A lower rate may indicate employees are afraid of taking unscheduled absences, preferring presenteeism that could indicateissues with
NEW HIRE TURNOVER RATE Pros: Tracking New Hire Turnover Rate gives you an indication of the effectiveness of your hiring and onboarding strategy. New starters who pass their probation and remain in your company for over a year are a good indication that your company has successfully matched both external representations and job roles with your hiring strategy. DATA FALLACIES TO AVOID CHERRY PICKING Selecting results that fit your claim and excluding those that don’t. DATA DREDGING Repeatedly testing new hypothesesagainst the same
HOW OFTEN DOES MY SPREADSHEET DATA REFRESH? Refresh rates when using import formulas. Widgets powered by import functions such as ImportRange and ImportData automatically refresh around every 15 minutes.Be aware though that when data from multiple import functions with their own refresh intervals are used in the same connected spreadsheet it can affect the accuracy of the datadisplayed.
HOW DO I ENABLE API ACCESS IN SALESFORCE? Only the Salesforce administrator has access to these features. Click on Setup. Go to Manage Users and click Profiles. Click Edit on the specific profile you're updating. Scroll down to Administrative Permissions and check the API Enabled box. Click Save. GECKOBOARD - DATA DASHBOARDS MADE FOR SHARINGGECKOBOARD METHODOLOGYDASHBOARD DESIGNTV DASHBOARDS ULTIMATE GUIDEKPI EXAMPLES Make business data easy to understand. You’ve got data - now it’s time to share it with others. Geckoboard helps you streamline data from spreadsheets, databases and other tools, and present it in the clearest possible way. Explore our data sources. HEADCOUNT | KPI EXAMPLE | GECKOBOARD If your company is growing, and you are regularly hiring new staff this metric is a great way to keep on top of your numbers, plus you can always break it down by department or location numbers depending on your company needs. Knowing your FTE as well as your headcount will tell you the number of weekly hours you have in the company. FTE isHIRES BY MONTH
Pros: For companies that have hiring targets over any set period, this metric will give you a month by month track of the progress you are making against them. For teams doing a lot of hiring across teams this metric can also be more insightful when broken down by department too. COST PER ACQUISITION (CPA) CPA benchmarks vary by industry and channel, but the average CPA for pay per click (PPC) search (across industries) is $59.18 while display (across industries) is just slightly higher at $60.76. For a more detailed list of benchmarks by industry, see this infographic. The best way to determine if your CPA is below, above or just average isto
TICKET BACKLOG
Ticket Backlog What is Ticket Backlog? Ticket Backlog refers to unresolved customer support requests in a particular time frame. These tickets remain unresolved beyond the typical response time (for your company) either because of team member performance, ticket volume, and/or dependencies and complexities that require additional time.ABSENCE RATE
Pros: If you are supporting a large or dispersed team this rate can give you an indication of the “health” of those teams, departments or locations at a glance. An absence rate of 1.5% is considered normal. A lower rate may indicate employees are afraid of taking unscheduled absences, preferring presenteeism that could indicateissues with
NEW HIRE TURNOVER RATE Pros: Tracking New Hire Turnover Rate gives you an indication of the effectiveness of your hiring and onboarding strategy. New starters who pass their probation and remain in your company for over a year are a good indication that your company has successfully matched both external representations and job roles with your hiring strategy. DATA FALLACIES TO AVOID CHERRY PICKING Selecting results that fit your claim and excluding those that don’t. DATA DREDGING Repeatedly testing new hypothesesagainst the same
HOW OFTEN DOES MY SPREADSHEET DATA REFRESH? Refresh rates when using import formulas. Widgets powered by import functions such as ImportRange and ImportData automatically refresh around every 15 minutes.Be aware though that when data from multiple import functions with their own refresh intervals are used in the same connected spreadsheet it can affect the accuracy of the datadisplayed.
HOW DO I ENABLE API ACCESS IN SALESFORCE? Only the Salesforce administrator has access to these features. Click on Setup. Go to Manage Users and click Profiles. Click Edit on the specific profile you're updating. Scroll down to Administrative Permissions and check the API Enabled box. Click Save. SQL TO WIN CONVERSION RATE However, this varies widely based on what the source of the opportunity was. For example, customer and employee referrals converted at 14.7%, social media at 8.5% and email campaigns at 7.8%. Meanwhile, lead lists convert at just 0.9%, events at 1.0% and webinars at 2.5%. Source. Lead Source for B2B companies. Benchmark SQL to Win Conversion Rate.TICKET BACKLOG
Ticket Backlog What is Ticket Backlog? Ticket Backlog refers to unresolved customer support requests in a particular time frame. These tickets remain unresolved beyond the typical response time (for your company) either because of team member performance, ticket volume, and/or dependencies and complexities that require additional time.HIRES BY MONTH
Pros: For companies that have hiring targets over any set period, this metric will give you a month by month track of the progress you are making against them. For teams doing a lot of hiring across teams this metric can also be more insightful when broken down by department too.ABSENCE RATE
Pros: If you are supporting a large or dispersed team this rate can give you an indication of the “health” of those teams, departments or locations at a glance. An absence rate of 1.5% is considered normal. A lower rate may indicate employees are afraid of taking unscheduled absences, preferring presenteeism that could indicateissues with
MQL TO SQL CONVERSION RATE However, this varies hugely based on what the source of the lead was. For example, website lead converted at 31.3%, customer and employee referrals at 24.7% and webinars at 17.8%. Meanwhile, email campaigns convert at just 0.9%, lead lists at 2.5% and events at 4.2%. Source. Lead Source for B2B Companies. Benchmark for MQL to SQL ConversionRate.
COST PER INSTALL
Cost Per Install is calculated by dividing the ad spend (over a specific time period) by the number of new installs from that same period. For example, if you spent $200 on ads for your mobile app and generated 130 new installs, your Cost Per Install would be $1.53. 200/ 130 = $1.53.
WWW.GECKOBOARD.COMTRANSLATE THIS PAGEwww.geckoboard.com
EMPLOYEE NET PROMOTER SCORE Employee Net Promoter Score What is Employee Net Promoter Score (eNPS)? This is a method for measuring how willing the employees are to recommend their workplace to friends and acquaintances. AVERAGE REVENUE PER ACCOUNT (ARPA) Average Revenue Per Account (ARPA) What is Average Revenue Per Account (ARPA)? The SaaS Metric Average Revenue Per Account (ARPA) is the revenue generated per account, usually calculated on a monthly oryearly basis.
NET MRR CHURN RATE
Continuing with our example above, if the total MRR is $50,000 but churn is $1500 and expansion is $2000, then the net (negative) MRR churn rate would be -1%. Net MRR Churn Rate can also be calculated on a cohort basis instead of monthly. The formula is quite similar to monthly version - simply change the figures to reflect the duration ofthe
GECKOBOARD - DATA DASHBOARDS MADE FOR SHARINGGECKOBOARD METHODOLOGYDASHBOARD DESIGNTV DASHBOARDS ULTIMATE GUIDEKPI EXAMPLES Make business data easy to understand. You’ve got data - now it’s time to share it with others. Geckoboard helps you streamline data from spreadsheets, databases and other tools, and present it in the clearest possible way. Explore our data sources. HEADCOUNT | KPI EXAMPLE | GECKOBOARD If your company is growing, and you are regularly hiring new staff this metric is a great way to keep on top of your numbers, plus you can always break it down by department or location numbers depending on your company needs. Knowing your FTE as well as your headcount will tell you the number of weekly hours you have in the company. FTE isHIRES BY MONTH
Pros: For companies that have hiring targets over any set period, this metric will give you a month by month track of the progress you are making against them. For teams doing a lot of hiring across teams this metric can also be more insightful when broken down by department too. COST PER ACQUISITION (CPA) CPA benchmarks vary by industry and channel, but the average CPA for pay per click (PPC) search (across industries) is $59.18 while display (across industries) is just slightly higher at $60.76. For a more detailed list of benchmarks by industry, see this infographic. The best way to determine if your CPA is below, above or just average isto
TICKET BACKLOG
Ticket Backlog What is Ticket Backlog? Ticket Backlog refers to unresolved customer support requests in a particular time frame. These tickets remain unresolved beyond the typical response time (for your company) either because of team member performance, ticket volume, and/or dependencies and complexities that require additional time.ABSENCE RATE
Pros: If you are supporting a large or dispersed team this rate can give you an indication of the “health” of those teams, departments or locations at a glance. An absence rate of 1.5% is considered normal. A lower rate may indicate employees are afraid of taking unscheduled absences, preferring presenteeism that could indicateissues with
NEW HIRE TURNOVER RATE Pros: Tracking New Hire Turnover Rate gives you an indication of the effectiveness of your hiring and onboarding strategy. New starters who pass their probation and remain in your company for over a year are a good indication that your company has successfully matched both external representations and job roles with your hiring strategy. DATA FALLACIES TO AVOID CHERRY PICKING Selecting results that fit your claim and excluding those that don’t. DATA DREDGING Repeatedly testing new hypothesesagainst the same
HOW OFTEN DOES MY SPREADSHEET DATA REFRESH? Refresh rates when using import formulas. Widgets powered by import functions such as ImportRange and ImportData automatically refresh around every 15 minutes.Be aware though that when data from multiple import functions with their own refresh intervals are used in the same connected spreadsheet it can affect the accuracy of the datadisplayed.
HOW DO I ENABLE API ACCESS IN SALESFORCE? Only the Salesforce administrator has access to these features. Click on Setup. Go to Manage Users and click Profiles. Click Edit on the specific profile you're updating. Scroll down to Administrative Permissions and check the API Enabled box. Click Save. GECKOBOARD - DATA DASHBOARDS MADE FOR SHARINGGECKOBOARD METHODOLOGYDASHBOARD DESIGNTV DASHBOARDS ULTIMATE GUIDEKPI EXAMPLES Make business data easy to understand. You’ve got data - now it’s time to share it with others. Geckoboard helps you streamline data from spreadsheets, databases and other tools, and present it in the clearest possible way. Explore our data sources. HEADCOUNT | KPI EXAMPLE | GECKOBOARD If your company is growing, and you are regularly hiring new staff this metric is a great way to keep on top of your numbers, plus you can always break it down by department or location numbers depending on your company needs. Knowing your FTE as well as your headcount will tell you the number of weekly hours you have in the company. FTE isHIRES BY MONTH
Pros: For companies that have hiring targets over any set period, this metric will give you a month by month track of the progress you are making against them. For teams doing a lot of hiring across teams this metric can also be more insightful when broken down by department too. COST PER ACQUISITION (CPA) CPA benchmarks vary by industry and channel, but the average CPA for pay per click (PPC) search (across industries) is $59.18 while display (across industries) is just slightly higher at $60.76. For a more detailed list of benchmarks by industry, see this infographic. The best way to determine if your CPA is below, above or just average isto
TICKET BACKLOG
Ticket Backlog What is Ticket Backlog? Ticket Backlog refers to unresolved customer support requests in a particular time frame. These tickets remain unresolved beyond the typical response time (for your company) either because of team member performance, ticket volume, and/or dependencies and complexities that require additional time.ABSENCE RATE
Pros: If you are supporting a large or dispersed team this rate can give you an indication of the “health” of those teams, departments or locations at a glance. An absence rate of 1.5% is considered normal. A lower rate may indicate employees are afraid of taking unscheduled absences, preferring presenteeism that could indicateissues with
NEW HIRE TURNOVER RATE Pros: Tracking New Hire Turnover Rate gives you an indication of the effectiveness of your hiring and onboarding strategy. New starters who pass their probation and remain in your company for over a year are a good indication that your company has successfully matched both external representations and job roles with your hiring strategy. DATA FALLACIES TO AVOID CHERRY PICKING Selecting results that fit your claim and excluding those that don’t. DATA DREDGING Repeatedly testing new hypothesesagainst the same
HOW OFTEN DOES MY SPREADSHEET DATA REFRESH? Refresh rates when using import formulas. Widgets powered by import functions such as ImportRange and ImportData automatically refresh around every 15 minutes.Be aware though that when data from multiple import functions with their own refresh intervals are used in the same connected spreadsheet it can affect the accuracy of the datadisplayed.
HOW DO I ENABLE API ACCESS IN SALESFORCE? Only the Salesforce administrator has access to these features. Click on Setup. Go to Manage Users and click Profiles. Click Edit on the specific profile you're updating. Scroll down to Administrative Permissions and check the API Enabled box. Click Save. SQL TO WIN CONVERSION RATE However, this varies widely based on what the source of the opportunity was. For example, customer and employee referrals converted at 14.7%, social media at 8.5% and email campaigns at 7.8%. Meanwhile, lead lists convert at just 0.9%, events at 1.0% and webinars at 2.5%. Source. Lead Source for B2B companies. Benchmark SQL to Win Conversion Rate.TICKET BACKLOG
Ticket Backlog What is Ticket Backlog? Ticket Backlog refers to unresolved customer support requests in a particular time frame. These tickets remain unresolved beyond the typical response time (for your company) either because of team member performance, ticket volume, and/or dependencies and complexities that require additional time.HIRES BY MONTH
Pros: For companies that have hiring targets over any set period, this metric will give you a month by month track of the progress you are making against them. For teams doing a lot of hiring across teams this metric can also be more insightful when broken down by department too.ABSENCE RATE
Pros: If you are supporting a large or dispersed team this rate can give you an indication of the “health” of those teams, departments or locations at a glance. An absence rate of 1.5% is considered normal. A lower rate may indicate employees are afraid of taking unscheduled absences, preferring presenteeism that could indicateissues with
MQL TO SQL CONVERSION RATE However, this varies hugely based on what the source of the lead was. For example, website lead converted at 31.3%, customer and employee referrals at 24.7% and webinars at 17.8%. Meanwhile, email campaigns convert at just 0.9%, lead lists at 2.5% and events at 4.2%. Source. Lead Source for B2B Companies. Benchmark for MQL to SQL ConversionRate.
COST PER INSTALL
Cost Per Install is calculated by dividing the ad spend (over a specific time period) by the number of new installs from that same period. For example, if you spent $200 on ads for your mobile app and generated 130 new installs, your Cost Per Install would be $1.53. 200/ 130 = $1.53.
WWW.GECKOBOARD.COMTRANSLATE THIS PAGEwww.geckoboard.com
EMPLOYEE NET PROMOTER SCORE Employee Net Promoter Score What is Employee Net Promoter Score (eNPS)? This is a method for measuring how willing the employees are to recommend their workplace to friends and acquaintances. AVERAGE REVENUE PER ACCOUNT (ARPA) Average Revenue Per Account (ARPA) What is Average Revenue Per Account (ARPA)? The SaaS Metric Average Revenue Per Account (ARPA) is the revenue generated per account, usually calculated on a monthly oryearly basis.
NET MRR CHURN RATE
Continuing with our example above, if the total MRR is $50,000 but churn is $1500 and expansion is $2000, then the net (negative) MRR churn rate would be -1%. Net MRR Churn Rate can also be calculated on a cohort basis instead of monthly. The formula is quite similar to monthly version - simply change the figures to reflect the duration ofthe
GECKOBOARD - DATA DASHBOARDS MADE FOR SHARINGGECKOBOARD METHODOLOGYDASHBOARD DESIGNTV DASHBOARDS ULTIMATE GUIDEKPI EXAMPLES Make business data easy to understand. You’ve got data - now it’s time to share it with others. Geckoboard helps you streamline data from spreadsheets, databases and other tools, and present it in the clearest possible way. Explore our data sources.COMPLETION RATE
Pros: Completion Rate is a leading indicator of how well your users respond to your onboarding efforts. A low completion rate could prompt your team to reevaluate the onboarding process in order to optimize it according to the current customer behaviour. Spend some time understanding the customer behaviour before setting up your key goals. ULTIMATE GUIDE TO TV DASHBOARDS TV Dashboards: a complete guide. A TV dashboard displays your metrics and key performance indicators (KPIs) on a TV screen, in your office. By clearly visualizing your performance data, and drawing attention to your objectives, a TV dashboard improves team performance, and helps to create team alignment. WEBSITE TRAFFIC GROWTH Website traffic growth is a key metric for any marketer to track and improve because increasing traffic increases the number of potential customers you can acquire. It also indicates the health of your top-of-the-funnel activities (i.e. social media, paid ads, SEO, etc. -TICKET BACKLOG
Ticket Backlog What is Ticket Backlog? Ticket Backlog refers to unresolved customer support requests in a particular time frame. These tickets remain unresolved beyond the typical response time (for your company) either because of team member performance, ticket volume, and/or dependencies and complexities that require additional time.RETENTION RATE
The average 30-day rate broken down by industry ranges from 27% to 43%, but for higher performing apps, that range is 32% to 66%. See more details here. While the average hovers around 20% 90-day retention, it’s best to aim for 25% or higher depending on your industry. Mobile App Industry. Average Retention Rate Benchmark for30+ days.
COST PER ACQUISITION (CPA) CPA benchmarks vary by industry and channel, but the average CPA for pay per click (PPC) search (across industries) is $59.18 while display (across industries) is just slightly higher at $60.76. For a more detailed list of benchmarks by industry, see this infographic. The best way to determine if your CPA is below, above or just average isto
NEW HIRE TURNOVER RATE Pros: Tracking New Hire Turnover Rate gives you an indication of the effectiveness of your hiring and onboarding strategy. New starters who pass their probation and remain in your company for over a year are a good indication that your company has successfully matched both external representations and job roles with your hiring strategy. AVERAGE REVENUE PER ACCOUNT (ARPA) Average Revenue Per Account (ARPA) What is Average Revenue Per Account (ARPA)? The SaaS Metric Average Revenue Per Account (ARPA) is the revenue generated per account, usually calculated on a monthly oryearly basis.
USE GOOGLE SHEETS’ IMPORTHTML FUNCTION TO DISPLAY DATA IN Google Sheets offers a function called ImportHTML that imports data from a table or list within an HTML page. You can use this function to automatically pull data into a Google Sheet and then into Geckoboard. The first step is getting the data you need in Google Sheets using ImportHTML. Once there you can simply use our Spreadsheets data source GECKOBOARD - DATA DASHBOARDS MADE FOR SHARINGGECKOBOARD METHODOLOGYDASHBOARD DESIGNTV DASHBOARDS ULTIMATE GUIDEKPI EXAMPLES Make business data easy to understand. You’ve got data - now it’s time to share it with others. Geckoboard helps you streamline data from spreadsheets, databases and other tools, and present it in the clearest possible way. Explore our data sources.COMPLETION RATE
Pros: Completion Rate is a leading indicator of how well your users respond to your onboarding efforts. A low completion rate could prompt your team to reevaluate the onboarding process in order to optimize it according to the current customer behaviour. Spend some time understanding the customer behaviour before setting up your key goals. ULTIMATE GUIDE TO TV DASHBOARDS TV Dashboards: a complete guide. A TV dashboard displays your metrics and key performance indicators (KPIs) on a TV screen, in your office. By clearly visualizing your performance data, and drawing attention to your objectives, a TV dashboard improves team performance, and helps to create team alignment. WEBSITE TRAFFIC GROWTH Website traffic growth is a key metric for any marketer to track and improve because increasing traffic increases the number of potential customers you can acquire. It also indicates the health of your top-of-the-funnel activities (i.e. social media, paid ads, SEO, etc. -TICKET BACKLOG
Ticket Backlog What is Ticket Backlog? Ticket Backlog refers to unresolved customer support requests in a particular time frame. These tickets remain unresolved beyond the typical response time (for your company) either because of team member performance, ticket volume, and/or dependencies and complexities that require additional time.RETENTION RATE
The average 30-day rate broken down by industry ranges from 27% to 43%, but for higher performing apps, that range is 32% to 66%. See more details here. While the average hovers around 20% 90-day retention, it’s best to aim for 25% or higher depending on your industry. Mobile App Industry. Average Retention Rate Benchmark for30+ days.
COST PER ACQUISITION (CPA) CPA benchmarks vary by industry and channel, but the average CPA for pay per click (PPC) search (across industries) is $59.18 while display (across industries) is just slightly higher at $60.76. For a more detailed list of benchmarks by industry, see this infographic. The best way to determine if your CPA is below, above or just average isto
NEW HIRE TURNOVER RATE Pros: Tracking New Hire Turnover Rate gives you an indication of the effectiveness of your hiring and onboarding strategy. New starters who pass their probation and remain in your company for over a year are a good indication that your company has successfully matched both external representations and job roles with your hiring strategy. AVERAGE REVENUE PER ACCOUNT (ARPA) Average Revenue Per Account (ARPA) What is Average Revenue Per Account (ARPA)? The SaaS Metric Average Revenue Per Account (ARPA) is the revenue generated per account, usually calculated on a monthly oryearly basis.
USE GOOGLE SHEETS’ IMPORTHTML FUNCTION TO DISPLAY DATA IN Google Sheets offers a function called ImportHTML that imports data from a table or list within an HTML page. You can use this function to automatically pull data into a Google Sheet and then into Geckoboard. The first step is getting the data you need in Google Sheets using ImportHTML. Once there you can simply use our Spreadsheets data source PRICING OPTIONS TO SUIT EVERY TEAM For an individual, project, or small team just getting started. $ 28 /mo. billed annually. Try for free. 1 dashboard & 1 user. Create one real-time dashboard for your project, team or initiative. All 60+ data sources. All our paid plans include all our data sources. We don't restrict how many sources you can use or artificially limit how fastRETENTION RATE
The average 30-day rate broken down by industry ranges from 27% to 43%, but for higher performing apps, that range is 32% to 66%. See more details here. While the average hovers around 20% 90-day retention, it’s best to aim for 25% or higher depending on your industry. Mobile App Industry. Average Retention Rate Benchmark for30+ days.
WEBSITE CONVERSION RATE Website conversion rates have quite a bit of variance depending on the industry and business model. Generally though, ecommerce conversion rates are lower coming in between 1.84% and 3.71% - while the average conversion rate across industries ranges between 2.35% and 5.31%. Mobile apps are in a category all their own with even more divergence SQL TO WIN CONVERSION RATE However, this varies widely based on what the source of the opportunity was. For example, customer and employee referrals converted at 14.7%, social media at 8.5% and email campaigns at 7.8%. Meanwhile, lead lists convert at just 0.9%, events at 1.0% and webinars at 2.5%. Source. Lead Source for B2B companies. Benchmark SQL to Win Conversion Rate. HEADCOUNT | KPI EXAMPLE | GECKOBOARD If your company is growing, and you are regularly hiring new staff this metric is a great way to keep on top of your numbers, plus you can always break it down by department or location numbers depending on your company needs. Knowing your FTE as well as your headcount will tell you the number of weekly hours you have in the company. FTE is NET PROMOTER SCORE (NPS) Additional Notes: The viral coefficient and the net promoter score (NPS) are related, but they function differently. NPS score tracks the number of satisfied customers who are likely to recommend your product or service. In contrast, the viral coefficient measures the number of customers actually recommending or inviting people to use your productor service.
GROSS PROFIT MARGIN
The gross profit in this example is $300. Your gross profit margin would be 30%. x 100 = 30%. You’ll use the same basic formula to find the gross profit margin for a single product or for the entire company. Keep in mind that you can’t find the average gross profit margin for your company by combining productGPMs.
AVERAGE RESOLUTION TIME Calculate your Average Resolution Time by dividing the total resolution time for all tickets solved in a specific time frame by the total number of tickets solved in that same time frame. You can also make the same calculation, but filter out tickets marked as pendingand on-hold.
EXPANSION MRR RATE
Expansion MRR Rate What is Expansion MRR Rate? The SaaS Metric Expansion Monthly Recurring Revenue (MRR) Rate is additional recurring revenue generated from existing customers through either add-ons, upsells or cross-sells. AVERAGE SALES CYCLE LENGTH Additional Notes: Average Sales Cycle Length is a good sales metric to use in conjunction with Average Handle Time (AHT). AHT is the total amount of time a sales rep spends on GECKOBOARD - DATA DASHBOARDS MADE FOR SHARINGGECKOBOARD METHODOLOGYDASHBOARD DESIGNTV DASHBOARDS ULTIMATE GUIDEKPI EXAMPLES Make business data easy to understand. You’ve got data - now it’s time to share it with others. Geckoboard helps you streamline data from spreadsheets, databases and other tools, and present it in the clearest possible way. Explore our data sources.COMPLETION RATE
Pros: Completion Rate is a leading indicator of how well your users respond to your onboarding efforts. A low completion rate could prompt your team to reevaluate the onboarding process in order to optimize it according to the current customer behaviour. Spend some time understanding the customer behaviour before setting up your key goals. COST PER ACQUISITION (CPA) CPA benchmarks vary by industry and channel, but the average CPA for pay per click (PPC) search (across industries) is $59.18 while display (across industries) is just slightly higher at $60.76. For a more detailed list of benchmarks by industry, see this infographic. The best way to determine if your CPA is below, above or just average isto
HEADCOUNT | KPI EXAMPLE | GECKOBOARD If your company is growing, and you are regularly hiring new staff this metric is a great way to keep on top of your numbers, plus you can always break it down by department or location numbers depending on your company needs. Knowing your FTE as well as your headcount will tell you the number of weekly hours you have in the company. FTE isHIRES BY MONTH
Pros: For companies that have hiring targets over any set period, this metric will give you a month by month track of the progress you are making against them. For teams doing a lot of hiring across teams this metric can also be more insightful when broken down by department too. NEW HIRE TURNOVER RATE Pros: Tracking New Hire Turnover Rate gives you an indication of the effectiveness of your hiring and onboarding strategy. New starters who pass their probation and remain in your company for over a year are a good indication that your company has successfully matched both external representations and job roles with your hiring strategy.TICKET BACKLOG
Ticket Backlog What is Ticket Backlog? Ticket Backlog refers to unresolved customer support requests in a particular time frame. These tickets remain unresolved beyond the typical response time (for your company) either because of team member performance, ticket volume, and/or dependencies and complexities that require additional time. AVERAGE REVENUE PER USER (ARPU) Get a quick explanation of Average Revenue Per User (ARPU), including a method for calculating, and industry benchmarks. See KPI example DATA FALLACIES TO AVOID CHERRY PICKING Selecting results that fit your claim and excluding those that don’t. DATA DREDGING Repeatedly testing new hypothesesagainst the same
HOW DO I ENABLE API ACCESS IN SALESFORCE? Only the Salesforce administrator has access to these features. Click on Setup. Go to Manage Users and click Profiles. Click Edit on the specific profile you're updating. Scroll down to Administrative Permissions and check the API Enabled box. Click Save. GECKOBOARD - DATA DASHBOARDS MADE FOR SHARINGGECKOBOARD METHODOLOGYDASHBOARD DESIGNTV DASHBOARDS ULTIMATE GUIDEKPI EXAMPLES Make business data easy to understand. You’ve got data - now it’s time to share it with others. Geckoboard helps you streamline data from spreadsheets, databases and other tools, and present it in the clearest possible way. Explore our data sources.COMPLETION RATE
Pros: Completion Rate is a leading indicator of how well your users respond to your onboarding efforts. A low completion rate could prompt your team to reevaluate the onboarding process in order to optimize it according to the current customer behaviour. Spend some time understanding the customer behaviour before setting up your key goals. COST PER ACQUISITION (CPA) CPA benchmarks vary by industry and channel, but the average CPA for pay per click (PPC) search (across industries) is $59.18 while display (across industries) is just slightly higher at $60.76. For a more detailed list of benchmarks by industry, see this infographic. The best way to determine if your CPA is below, above or just average isto
HEADCOUNT | KPI EXAMPLE | GECKOBOARD If your company is growing, and you are regularly hiring new staff this metric is a great way to keep on top of your numbers, plus you can always break it down by department or location numbers depending on your company needs. Knowing your FTE as well as your headcount will tell you the number of weekly hours you have in the company. FTE isHIRES BY MONTH
Pros: For companies that have hiring targets over any set period, this metric will give you a month by month track of the progress you are making against them. For teams doing a lot of hiring across teams this metric can also be more insightful when broken down by department too. NEW HIRE TURNOVER RATE Pros: Tracking New Hire Turnover Rate gives you an indication of the effectiveness of your hiring and onboarding strategy. New starters who pass their probation and remain in your company for over a year are a good indication that your company has successfully matched both external representations and job roles with your hiring strategy.TICKET BACKLOG
Ticket Backlog What is Ticket Backlog? Ticket Backlog refers to unresolved customer support requests in a particular time frame. These tickets remain unresolved beyond the typical response time (for your company) either because of team member performance, ticket volume, and/or dependencies and complexities that require additional time. AVERAGE REVENUE PER USER (ARPU) Get a quick explanation of Average Revenue Per User (ARPU), including a method for calculating, and industry benchmarks. See KPI example DATA FALLACIES TO AVOID CHERRY PICKING Selecting results that fit your claim and excluding those that don’t. DATA DREDGING Repeatedly testing new hypothesesagainst the same
HOW DO I ENABLE API ACCESS IN SALESFORCE? Only the Salesforce administrator has access to these features. Click on Setup. Go to Manage Users and click Profiles. Click Edit on the specific profile you're updating. Scroll down to Administrative Permissions and check the API Enabled box. Click Save. WEBSITE LAUNCH DASHBOARD EXAMPLE What’s this dashboard for? We created this dashboard for the relaunch of our website, to help everyone in Marketing stay on top of core health metrics related to the relaunch. It’s designed to answer two questions that are always front of mind during a launch: “is anything broken?” and “how is the new website performing comparedto
COMPLETION RATE
Pros: Completion Rate is a leading indicator of how well your users respond to your onboarding efforts. A low completion rate could prompt your team to reevaluate the onboarding process in order to optimize it according to the current customer behaviour. Spend some time understanding the customer behaviour before setting up your key goals.TICKET BACKLOG
Ticket Backlog What is Ticket Backlog? Ticket Backlog refers to unresolved customer support requests in a particular time frame. These tickets remain unresolved beyond the typical response time (for your company) either because of team member performance, ticket volume, and/or dependencies and complexities that require additional time. MQL TO SQL CONVERSION RATE However, this varies hugely based on what the source of the lead was. For example, website lead converted at 31.3%, customer and employee referrals at 24.7% and webinars at 17.8%. Meanwhile, email campaigns convert at just 0.9%, lead lists at 2.5% and events at 4.2%. Source. Lead Source for B2B Companies. Benchmark for MQL to SQL ConversionRate.
GENDER RATIO
Gender Ratio What is Gender Ratio? This metrics calculates the proportion of people who identify as a certain gender across your business. It is used to compare the amount of people across two genders (or groups of genders e.g. women and non-binary to men). NEW BUYER GROWTH RATE New Buyer Growth Rate What is New Buyer Growth Rate? This metrics calculates how fast you are adding new buyers to your marketplace. Demand is at the core of any two-sided marketplace, so tracking buyer growth rate is an indicator of success. STATISTICAL FALLACIES AND HOW TO AVOID THEM Gambler's Fallacy. The mistaken belief that because something has happened more frequently than usual, it’s now less likely to happen in future and vice versa. Get the printable card. This is also known as the Monte Carlo Fallacy because of an infamous example that occurred at a roulette table there in 1913.COST PER INSTALL
Cost Per Install is calculated by dividing the ad spend (over a specific time period) by the number of new installs from that same period. For example, if you spent $200 on ads for your mobile app and generated 130 new installs, your Cost Per Install would be $1.53. 200/ 130 = $1.53.
EMPLOYEE NET PROMOTER SCORE Employee Net Promoter Score What is Employee Net Promoter Score (eNPS)? This is a method for measuring how willing the employees are to recommend their workplace to friends and acquaintances.NET MRR CHURN RATE
Continuing with our example above, if the total MRR is $50,000 but churn is $1500 and expansion is $2000, then the net (negative) MRR churn rate would be -1%. Net MRR Churn Rate can also be calculated on a cohort basis instead of monthly. The formula is quite similar to monthly version - simply change the figures to reflect the duration ofthe
GECKOBOARD - DATA DASHBOARDS MADE FOR SHARINGGECKOBOARD METHODOLOGYDASHBOARD DESIGNTV DASHBOARDS ULTIMATE GUIDEKPI EXAMPLES Make business data easy to understand. You’ve got data - now it’s time to share it with others. Geckoboard helps you streamline data from spreadsheets, databases and other tools, and present it in the clearest possible way. Explore our data sources.COMPLETION RATE
Pros: Completion Rate is a leading indicator of how well your users respond to your onboarding efforts. A low completion rate could prompt your team to reevaluate the onboarding process in order to optimize it according to the current customer behaviour. Spend some time understanding the customer behaviour before setting up your key goals. COST PER ACQUISITION (CPA) CPA benchmarks vary by industry and channel, but the average CPA for pay per click (PPC) search (across industries) is $59.18 while display (across industries) is just slightly higher at $60.76. For a more detailed list of benchmarks by industry, see this infographic. The best way to determine if your CPA is below, above or just average isto
HEADCOUNT | KPI EXAMPLE | GECKOBOARD If your company is growing, and you are regularly hiring new staff this metric is a great way to keep on top of your numbers, plus you can always break it down by department or location numbers depending on your company needs. Knowing your FTE as well as your headcount will tell you the number of weekly hours you have in the company. FTE isHIRES BY MONTH
Pros: For companies that have hiring targets over any set period, this metric will give you a month by month track of the progress you are making against them. For teams doing a lot of hiring across teams this metric can also be more insightful when broken down by department too. NEW HIRE TURNOVER RATE Pros: Tracking New Hire Turnover Rate gives you an indication of the effectiveness of your hiring and onboarding strategy. New starters who pass their probation and remain in your company for over a year are a good indication that your company has successfully matched both external representations and job roles with your hiring strategy.TICKET BACKLOG
Ticket Backlog What is Ticket Backlog? Ticket Backlog refers to unresolved customer support requests in a particular time frame. These tickets remain unresolved beyond the typical response time (for your company) either because of team member performance, ticket volume, and/or dependencies and complexities that require additional time. AVERAGE REVENUE PER USER (ARPU) Get a quick explanation of Average Revenue Per User (ARPU), including a method for calculating, and industry benchmarks. See KPI example DATA FALLACIES TO AVOID CHERRY PICKING Selecting results that fit your claim and excluding those that don’t. DATA DREDGING Repeatedly testing new hypothesesagainst the same
HOW DO I ENABLE API ACCESS IN SALESFORCE? Only the Salesforce administrator has access to these features. Click on Setup. Go to Manage Users and click Profiles. Click Edit on the specific profile you're updating. Scroll down to Administrative Permissions and check the API Enabled box. Click Save. GECKOBOARD - DATA DASHBOARDS MADE FOR SHARINGGECKOBOARD METHODOLOGYDASHBOARD DESIGNTV DASHBOARDS ULTIMATE GUIDEKPI EXAMPLES Make business data easy to understand. You’ve got data - now it’s time to share it with others. Geckoboard helps you streamline data from spreadsheets, databases and other tools, and present it in the clearest possible way. Explore our data sources.COMPLETION RATE
Pros: Completion Rate is a leading indicator of how well your users respond to your onboarding efforts. A low completion rate could prompt your team to reevaluate the onboarding process in order to optimize it according to the current customer behaviour. Spend some time understanding the customer behaviour before setting up your key goals. COST PER ACQUISITION (CPA) CPA benchmarks vary by industry and channel, but the average CPA for pay per click (PPC) search (across industries) is $59.18 while display (across industries) is just slightly higher at $60.76. For a more detailed list of benchmarks by industry, see this infographic. The best way to determine if your CPA is below, above or just average isto
HEADCOUNT | KPI EXAMPLE | GECKOBOARD If your company is growing, and you are regularly hiring new staff this metric is a great way to keep on top of your numbers, plus you can always break it down by department or location numbers depending on your company needs. Knowing your FTE as well as your headcount will tell you the number of weekly hours you have in the company. FTE isHIRES BY MONTH
Pros: For companies that have hiring targets over any set period, this metric will give you a month by month track of the progress you are making against them. For teams doing a lot of hiring across teams this metric can also be more insightful when broken down by department too. NEW HIRE TURNOVER RATE Pros: Tracking New Hire Turnover Rate gives you an indication of the effectiveness of your hiring and onboarding strategy. New starters who pass their probation and remain in your company for over a year are a good indication that your company has successfully matched both external representations and job roles with your hiring strategy.TICKET BACKLOG
Ticket Backlog What is Ticket Backlog? Ticket Backlog refers to unresolved customer support requests in a particular time frame. These tickets remain unresolved beyond the typical response time (for your company) either because of team member performance, ticket volume, and/or dependencies and complexities that require additional time. AVERAGE REVENUE PER USER (ARPU) Get a quick explanation of Average Revenue Per User (ARPU), including a method for calculating, and industry benchmarks. See KPI example DATA FALLACIES TO AVOID CHERRY PICKING Selecting results that fit your claim and excluding those that don’t. DATA DREDGING Repeatedly testing new hypothesesagainst the same
HOW DO I ENABLE API ACCESS IN SALESFORCE? Only the Salesforce administrator has access to these features. Click on Setup. Go to Manage Users and click Profiles. Click Edit on the specific profile you're updating. Scroll down to Administrative Permissions and check the API Enabled box. Click Save. WEBSITE LAUNCH DASHBOARD EXAMPLE What’s this dashboard for? We created this dashboard for the relaunch of our website, to help everyone in Marketing stay on top of core health metrics related to the relaunch. It’s designed to answer two questions that are always front of mind during a launch: “is anything broken?” and “how is the new website performing comparedto
COMPLETION RATE
Pros: Completion Rate is a leading indicator of how well your users respond to your onboarding efforts. A low completion rate could prompt your team to reevaluate the onboarding process in order to optimize it according to the current customer behaviour. Spend some time understanding the customer behaviour before setting up your key goals.TICKET BACKLOG
Ticket Backlog What is Ticket Backlog? Ticket Backlog refers to unresolved customer support requests in a particular time frame. These tickets remain unresolved beyond the typical response time (for your company) either because of team member performance, ticket volume, and/or dependencies and complexities that require additional time. MQL TO SQL CONVERSION RATE However, this varies hugely based on what the source of the lead was. For example, website lead converted at 31.3%, customer and employee referrals at 24.7% and webinars at 17.8%. Meanwhile, email campaigns convert at just 0.9%, lead lists at 2.5% and events at 4.2%. Source. Lead Source for B2B Companies. Benchmark for MQL to SQL ConversionRate.
GENDER RATIO
Gender Ratio What is Gender Ratio? This metrics calculates the proportion of people who identify as a certain gender across your business. It is used to compare the amount of people across two genders (or groups of genders e.g. women and non-binary to men). NEW BUYER GROWTH RATE New Buyer Growth Rate What is New Buyer Growth Rate? This metrics calculates how fast you are adding new buyers to your marketplace. Demand is at the core of any two-sided marketplace, so tracking buyer growth rate is an indicator of success. STATISTICAL FALLACIES AND HOW TO AVOID THEM Gambler's Fallacy. The mistaken belief that because something has happened more frequently than usual, it’s now less likely to happen in future and vice versa. Get the printable card. This is also known as the Monte Carlo Fallacy because of an infamous example that occurred at a roulette table there in 1913.COST PER INSTALL
Cost Per Install is calculated by dividing the ad spend (over a specific time period) by the number of new installs from that same period. For example, if you spent $200 on ads for your mobile app and generated 130 new installs, your Cost Per Install would be $1.53. 200/ 130 = $1.53.
EMPLOYEE NET PROMOTER SCORE Employee Net Promoter Score What is Employee Net Promoter Score (eNPS)? This is a method for measuring how willing the employees are to recommend their workplace to friends and acquaintances.NET MRR CHURN RATE
Continuing with our example above, if the total MRR is $50,000 but churn is $1500 and expansion is $2000, then the net (negative) MRR churn rate would be -1%. Net MRR Churn Rate can also be calculated on a cohort basis instead of monthly. The formula is quite similar to monthly version - simply change the figures to reflect the duration ofthe
GECKOBOARD - DATA DASHBOARDS MADE FOR SHARINGGECKOBOARD METHODOLOGYDASHBOARD DESIGNTV DASHBOARDS ULTIMATE GUIDEKPI EXAMPLES Make business data easy to understand. You’ve got data - now it’s time to share it with others. Geckoboard helps you streamline data from spreadsheets, databases and other tools, and present it in the clearest possible way. Explore our data sources.COMPLETION RATE
Pros: Completion Rate is a leading indicator of how well your users respond to your onboarding efforts. A low completion rate could prompt your team to reevaluate the onboarding process in order to optimize it according to the current customer behaviour. Spend some time understanding the customer behaviour before setting up your key goals. COST PER ACQUISITION (CPA) CPA benchmarks vary by industry and channel, but the average CPA for pay per click (PPC) search (across industries) is $59.18 while display (across industries) is just slightly higher at $60.76. For a more detailed list of benchmarks by industry, see this infographic. The best way to determine if your CPA is below, above or just average isto
HEADCOUNT | KPI EXAMPLE | GECKOBOARD If your company is growing, and you are regularly hiring new staff this metric is a great way to keep on top of your numbers, plus you can always break it down by department or location numbers depending on your company needs. Knowing your FTE as well as your headcount will tell you the number of weekly hours you have in the company. FTE isHIRES BY MONTH
Pros: For companies that have hiring targets over any set period, this metric will give you a month by month track of the progress you are making against them. For teams doing a lot of hiring across teams this metric can also be more insightful when broken down by department too. NEW HIRE TURNOVER RATE Pros: Tracking New Hire Turnover Rate gives you an indication of the effectiveness of your hiring and onboarding strategy. New starters who pass their probation and remain in your company for over a year are a good indication that your company has successfully matched both external representations and job roles with your hiring strategy.TICKET BACKLOG
Ticket Backlog What is Ticket Backlog? Ticket Backlog refers to unresolved customer support requests in a particular time frame. These tickets remain unresolved beyond the typical response time (for your company) either because of team member performance, ticket volume, and/or dependencies and complexities that require additional time. AVERAGE REVENUE PER USER (ARPU) Get a quick explanation of Average Revenue Per User (ARPU), including a method for calculating, and industry benchmarks. See KPI example DATA FALLACIES TO AVOID CHERRY PICKING Selecting results that fit your claim and excluding those that don’t. DATA DREDGING Repeatedly testing new hypothesesagainst the same
HOW DO I ENABLE API ACCESS IN SALESFORCE? Only the Salesforce administrator has access to these features. Click on Setup. Go to Manage Users and click Profiles. Click Edit on the specific profile you're updating. Scroll down to Administrative Permissions and check the API Enabled box. Click Save. GECKOBOARD - DATA DASHBOARDS MADE FOR SHARINGGECKOBOARD METHODOLOGYDASHBOARD DESIGNTV DASHBOARDS ULTIMATE GUIDEKPI EXAMPLES Make business data easy to understand. You’ve got data - now it’s time to share it with others. Geckoboard helps you streamline data from spreadsheets, databases and other tools, and present it in the clearest possible way. Explore our data sources.COMPLETION RATE
Pros: Completion Rate is a leading indicator of how well your users respond to your onboarding efforts. A low completion rate could prompt your team to reevaluate the onboarding process in order to optimize it according to the current customer behaviour. Spend some time understanding the customer behaviour before setting up your key goals. COST PER ACQUISITION (CPA) CPA benchmarks vary by industry and channel, but the average CPA for pay per click (PPC) search (across industries) is $59.18 while display (across industries) is just slightly higher at $60.76. For a more detailed list of benchmarks by industry, see this infographic. The best way to determine if your CPA is below, above or just average isto
HEADCOUNT | KPI EXAMPLE | GECKOBOARD If your company is growing, and you are regularly hiring new staff this metric is a great way to keep on top of your numbers, plus you can always break it down by department or location numbers depending on your company needs. Knowing your FTE as well as your headcount will tell you the number of weekly hours you have in the company. FTE isHIRES BY MONTH
Pros: For companies that have hiring targets over any set period, this metric will give you a month by month track of the progress you are making against them. For teams doing a lot of hiring across teams this metric can also be more insightful when broken down by department too. NEW HIRE TURNOVER RATE Pros: Tracking New Hire Turnover Rate gives you an indication of the effectiveness of your hiring and onboarding strategy. New starters who pass their probation and remain in your company for over a year are a good indication that your company has successfully matched both external representations and job roles with your hiring strategy.TICKET BACKLOG
Ticket Backlog What is Ticket Backlog? Ticket Backlog refers to unresolved customer support requests in a particular time frame. These tickets remain unresolved beyond the typical response time (for your company) either because of team member performance, ticket volume, and/or dependencies and complexities that require additional time. AVERAGE REVENUE PER USER (ARPU) Get a quick explanation of Average Revenue Per User (ARPU), including a method for calculating, and industry benchmarks. See KPI example DATA FALLACIES TO AVOID CHERRY PICKING Selecting results that fit your claim and excluding those that don’t. DATA DREDGING Repeatedly testing new hypothesesagainst the same
HOW DO I ENABLE API ACCESS IN SALESFORCE? Only the Salesforce administrator has access to these features. Click on Setup. Go to Manage Users and click Profiles. Click Edit on the specific profile you're updating. Scroll down to Administrative Permissions and check the API Enabled box. Click Save. WEBSITE LAUNCH DASHBOARD EXAMPLE What’s this dashboard for? We created this dashboard for the relaunch of our website, to help everyone in Marketing stay on top of core health metrics related to the relaunch. It’s designed to answer two questions that are always front of mind during a launch: “is anything broken?” and “how is the new website performing comparedto
COMPLETION RATE
Pros: Completion Rate is a leading indicator of how well your users respond to your onboarding efforts. A low completion rate could prompt your team to reevaluate the onboarding process in order to optimize it according to the current customer behaviour. Spend some time understanding the customer behaviour before setting up your key goals.TICKET BACKLOG
Ticket Backlog What is Ticket Backlog? Ticket Backlog refers to unresolved customer support requests in a particular time frame. These tickets remain unresolved beyond the typical response time (for your company) either because of team member performance, ticket volume, and/or dependencies and complexities that require additional time. MQL TO SQL CONVERSION RATE However, this varies hugely based on what the source of the lead was. For example, website lead converted at 31.3%, customer and employee referrals at 24.7% and webinars at 17.8%. Meanwhile, email campaigns convert at just 0.9%, lead lists at 2.5% and events at 4.2%. Source. Lead Source for B2B Companies. Benchmark for MQL to SQL ConversionRate.
GENDER RATIO
Gender Ratio What is Gender Ratio? This metrics calculates the proportion of people who identify as a certain gender across your business. It is used to compare the amount of people across two genders (or groups of genders e.g. women and non-binary to men). NEW BUYER GROWTH RATE New Buyer Growth Rate What is New Buyer Growth Rate? This metrics calculates how fast you are adding new buyers to your marketplace. Demand is at the core of any two-sided marketplace, so tracking buyer growth rate is an indicator of success. STATISTICAL FALLACIES AND HOW TO AVOID THEM Gambler's Fallacy. The mistaken belief that because something has happened more frequently than usual, it’s now less likely to happen in future and vice versa. Get the printable card. This is also known as the Monte Carlo Fallacy because of an infamous example that occurred at a roulette table there in 1913.COST PER INSTALL
Cost Per Install is calculated by dividing the ad spend (over a specific time period) by the number of new installs from that same period. For example, if you spent $200 on ads for your mobile app and generated 130 new installs, your Cost Per Install would be $1.53. 200/ 130 = $1.53.
EMPLOYEE NET PROMOTER SCORE Employee Net Promoter Score What is Employee Net Promoter Score (eNPS)? This is a method for measuring how willing the employees are to recommend their workplace to friends and acquaintances.NET MRR CHURN RATE
Continuing with our example above, if the total MRR is $50,000 but churn is $1500 and expansion is $2000, then the net (negative) MRR churn rate would be -1%. Net MRR Churn Rate can also be calculated on a cohort basis instead of monthly. The formula is quite similar to monthly version - simply change the figures to reflect the duration ofthe
GECKOBOARD - DATA DASHBOARDS MADE FOR SHARINGGECKOBOARD METHODOLOGYDASHBOARD DESIGNTV DASHBOARDS ULTIMATE GUIDEKPI EXAMPLES Make business data easy to understand. You’ve got data - now it’s time to share it with others. Geckoboard helps you streamline data from spreadsheets, databases and other tools, and present it in the clearest possible way. Explore our data sources. WEBSITE LAUNCH DASHBOARD EXAMPLE What’s this dashboard for? We created this dashboard for the relaunch of our website, to help everyone in Marketing stay on top of core health metrics related to the relaunch. It’s designed to answer two questions that are always front of mind during a launch: “is anything broken?” and “how is the new website performing comparedto
ULTIMATE GUIDE TO TV DASHBOARDS TV Dashboards: a complete guide. A TV dashboard displays your metrics and key performance indicators (KPIs) on a TV screen, in your office. By clearly visualizing your performance data, and drawing attention to your objectives, a TV dashboard improves team performance, and helps to create team alignment. COST PER ACQUISITION (CPA) CPA benchmarks vary by industry and channel, but the average CPA for pay per click (PPC) search (across industries) is $59.18 while display (across industries) is just slightly higher at $60.76. For a more detailed list of benchmarks by industry, see this infographic. The best way to determine if your CPA is below, above or just average isto
MQL TO SQL CONVERSION RATE However, this varies hugely based on what the source of the lead was. For example, website lead converted at 31.3%, customer and employee referrals at 24.7% and webinars at 17.8%. Meanwhile, email campaigns convert at just 0.9%, lead lists at 2.5% and events at 4.2%. Source. Lead Source for B2B Companies. Benchmark for MQL to SQL ConversionRate.
AVERAGE REVENUE PER USER (ARPU) Get a quick explanation of Average Revenue Per User (ARPU), including a method for calculating, and industry benchmarks. See KPI example DATA FALLACIES TO AVOID CHERRY PICKING Selecting results that fit your claim and excluding those that don’t. DATA DREDGING Repeatedly testing new hypothesesagainst the same
HOW DO I ENABLE API ACCESS IN SALESFORCE? Only the Salesforce administrator has access to these features. Click on Setup. Go to Manage Users and click Profiles. Click Edit on the specific profile you're updating. Scroll down to Administrative Permissions and check the API Enabled box. Click Save. HOW OFTEN DOES MY SPREADSHEET DATA REFRESH? Refresh rates when using import formulas. Widgets powered by import functions such as ImportRange and ImportData automatically refresh around every 15 minutes.Be aware though that when data from multiple import functions with their own refresh intervals are used in the same connected spreadsheet it can affect the accuracy of the datadisplayed.
USE GOOGLE SHEETS’ IMPORTHTML FUNCTION TO DISPLAY DATA IN Google Sheets offers a function called ImportHTML that imports data from a table or list within an HTML page. You can use this function to automatically pull data into a Google Sheet and then into Geckoboard. The first step is getting the data you need in Google Sheets using ImportHTML. Once there you can simply use our Spreadsheets data source GECKOBOARD - DATA DASHBOARDS MADE FOR SHARINGGECKOBOARD METHODOLOGYDASHBOARD DESIGNTV DASHBOARDS ULTIMATE GUIDEKPI EXAMPLES Make business data easy to understand. You’ve got data - now it’s time to share it with others. Geckoboard helps you streamline data from spreadsheets, databases and other tools, and present it in the clearest possible way. Explore our data sources. WEBSITE LAUNCH DASHBOARD EXAMPLE What’s this dashboard for? We created this dashboard for the relaunch of our website, to help everyone in Marketing stay on top of core health metrics related to the relaunch. It’s designed to answer two questions that are always front of mind during a launch: “is anything broken?” and “how is the new website performing comparedto
ULTIMATE GUIDE TO TV DASHBOARDS TV Dashboards: a complete guide. A TV dashboard displays your metrics and key performance indicators (KPIs) on a TV screen, in your office. By clearly visualizing your performance data, and drawing attention to your objectives, a TV dashboard improves team performance, and helps to create team alignment. COST PER ACQUISITION (CPA) CPA benchmarks vary by industry and channel, but the average CPA for pay per click (PPC) search (across industries) is $59.18 while display (across industries) is just slightly higher at $60.76. For a more detailed list of benchmarks by industry, see this infographic. The best way to determine if your CPA is below, above or just average isto
MQL TO SQL CONVERSION RATE However, this varies hugely based on what the source of the lead was. For example, website lead converted at 31.3%, customer and employee referrals at 24.7% and webinars at 17.8%. Meanwhile, email campaigns convert at just 0.9%, lead lists at 2.5% and events at 4.2%. Source. Lead Source for B2B Companies. Benchmark for MQL to SQL ConversionRate.
AVERAGE REVENUE PER USER (ARPU) Get a quick explanation of Average Revenue Per User (ARPU), including a method for calculating, and industry benchmarks. See KPI example DATA FALLACIES TO AVOID CHERRY PICKING Selecting results that fit your claim and excluding those that don’t. DATA DREDGING Repeatedly testing new hypothesesagainst the same
HOW DO I ENABLE API ACCESS IN SALESFORCE? Only the Salesforce administrator has access to these features. Click on Setup. Go to Manage Users and click Profiles. Click Edit on the specific profile you're updating. Scroll down to Administrative Permissions and check the API Enabled box. Click Save. HOW OFTEN DOES MY SPREADSHEET DATA REFRESH? Refresh rates when using import formulas. Widgets powered by import functions such as ImportRange and ImportData automatically refresh around every 15 minutes.Be aware though that when data from multiple import functions with their own refresh intervals are used in the same connected spreadsheet it can affect the accuracy of the datadisplayed.
USE GOOGLE SHEETS’ IMPORTHTML FUNCTION TO DISPLAY DATA IN Google Sheets offers a function called ImportHTML that imports data from a table or list within an HTML page. You can use this function to automatically pull data into a Google Sheet and then into Geckoboard. The first step is getting the data you need in Google Sheets using ImportHTML. Once there you can simply use our Spreadsheets data sourceCOMPLETION RATE
Pros: Completion Rate is a leading indicator of how well your users respond to your onboarding efforts. A low completion rate could prompt your team to reevaluate the onboarding process in order to optimize it according to the current customer behaviour. Spend some time understanding the customer behaviour before setting up your key goals. ULTIMATE GUIDE TO TV DASHBOARDS TV Dashboards: a complete guide. A TV dashboard displays your metrics and key performance indicators (KPIs) on a TV screen, in your office. By clearly visualizing your performance data, and drawing attention to your objectives, a TV dashboard improves team performance, and helpsto
CUSTOMER SERVICE DASHBOARD EXAMPLE The metrics on this dashboard are grouped by channel so we can easily focus on a particular area when we look up at the dashboard. For both email and chat, we’ve visualized the best indicators of service quality we can think of: First Response Time, Resolution Time, and CSAT. These help us check that we’re responding to customers in aTICKET BACKLOG
Ticket Backlog What is Ticket Backlog? Ticket Backlog refers to unresolved customer support requests in a particular time frame. These tickets remain unresolved beyond the typical response time (for your company) either because of team member performance, ticket volume, and/or dependencies and complexities that require additional time. SQL TO WIN CONVERSION RATE However, this varies widely based on what the source of the opportunity was. For example, customer and employee referrals converted at 14.7%, social media at 8.5% and email campaigns at 7.8%. Meanwhile, lead lists convert at just 0.9%, events at 1.0% and webinars at 2.5%. Source. Lead Source for B2B companies. Benchmark SQL to Win Conversion Rate.SESSION LENGTH
Session Length What is Session Length? The Session Length of an app is the amount of time from when a user launches the app until they stop using or leave the app.LTV:CAC RATIO
LTV to CAC Ratio Calculation: ($) LTV / ($) CAC = (#) LTV to (1) CAC Ratio. The average lifetime value of your customers is the average monthly revenue per customer adjusted for monthly churn and gross margin. You can also calculate LTV using annual recurring revenue and annual churn. The cost of acquiring a customer is simply the sum ofall
COST PER INSTALL
Cost Per Install is calculated by dividing the ad spend (over a specific time period) by the number of new installs from that same period. For example, if you spent $200 on ads for your mobile app and generated 130 new installs, your Cost Per Install would be $1.53. 200/ 130 = $1.53.
STATISTICAL FALLACIES AND HOW TO AVOID THEM Gambler's Fallacy. The mistaken belief that because something has happened more frequently than usual, it’s now less likely to happen in future and vice versa. Get the printable card. This is also known as the Monte Carlo Fallacy because of an infamous example that occurred at a roulette table there in 1913. AVERAGE REVENUE PER ACCOUNT (ARPA) Average Revenue Per Account (ARPA) What is Average Revenue Per Account (ARPA)? The SaaS Metric Average Revenue Per Account (ARPA) is the revenue generated per account, usually calculated on a monthly oryearly basis.
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